Marriage License Questions? Click Here To Speak To Rev. Louis Right Now at 1-888-886-6075

South Carolina Marriage License Requirements

Below is the information on what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the marriage laws before filling out the marriage license forms.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document that allows you to officially be married under the law. Always check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

Licenses are usually not valid for more than 30 days so you'll typically need to apply for your marriage license within one month of your wedding ceremony. You need to submit your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

IMPORTANT: You are not officially married when you receive a marriage license. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

ID Requirement: Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of Oregon.

Waiting Period: 3 days.

If Divorced: If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.

Fees: Cash Only! $25

Other Tests: No tests

Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.

Officiants: The minister, priest or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state may perform marriages. Ministers must provide marriage certificates to the couple married and report the marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.

Valid: License is valid for 90 days anywhere in Oregon.
The license can only be used within the State of Oregon.


IMPORTANT: State and county marriage license requirements can change so make sure you check with your local town clerk. This information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any plans.

Abbeville County Abbeville, SC 864.459.4023 Aiken County Aiken, SC 803.642.2000 Allendale County Allendale, SC 803.584.3157 Anderson County Anderson, SC 864.260.4049 Bamberg County Bamberg, SC 803.245.3008 Barnwell County Barnwell, SC 803.541.1031 Beaufort County Beaufort, SC 843.470.5319 Berkeley County Moncks Corner, SC 843.761.6900 Calhoun County St. Matthews, SC 803.874.3514 Charleston County Charleston, SC 843.740.5890 Cherokee County Gaffney, SC 864.487.2584 Chester County Chester, SC 803.385.2604 Chesterfield County Chesterfield, SC 843.623.2376 Clarendon County Manning, SC 803.435.8774 Colleton County Walterboro, SC 843.549.7216 Darlington County Darlington, SC 843.398.4310 Dillon County Dillon, SC 843.774.1423 Dorchester County St. George, SC 843.563.0136 Edgefield County Edgefield, SC 803.637.4076 Fairfield County Winnsboro, SC 803.712.6519 Florence County Florence, SC 843.665.3085 Georgetown County Georgetown, SC 843.527.6325 Greenville County Greenville, SC 864.467.7170 Greenwood County Greenwood, SC 864.942.8625 Hampton County Hampton, SC 803.943.7512 Horry County Conway, SC 843.248.1294 Jasper County Ridgeland, SC 843.726.7718 Kershaw County Camden, SC 803.425.1500 Lancaster County Lancaster, SC 803.283.3379 Laurens County Laurens, SC 864.984.7315 Lee County Bishopville, SC 803.484.5341 Lexington County Lexington, SC 803.359.8324 Marlboro County Bennettsville, SC 843.479.5610 Marion County Marion, SC 843.423.8244 McCormick County McCormick, SC 864.465.2630 Newberry County Newberry, SC 803.321.2118 Oconee County Walhalla, SC 864.638.4275 Orangeburg County Orangeburg, SC 803.533.6280 Pickens County Pickens, SC 864.898.5903 Richland County Columbia, SC 803.748.4700 Saluda County Saluda, SC 864.445.7110 Spartanburg County Spartanburg, SC 864.596.2556 Sumter County Sumter, SC 803.436.2166 Union County Union, SC 864.429.1625 Williamsburg County Kingstree, SC 843.354.6655 York County York, SC 803.684.8513,