Oregon Marriage License Requirements
Below is the information on what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the marriage laws before filling out the marriage license forms.
In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document that allows you to officially be married under the law. Always check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.
Licenses are usually not valid for more than 30 days so you'll typically need to apply for your marriage license within one month of your wedding ceremony. You need to submit your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents.
When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.
IMPORTANT: You are not officially married when you receive a marriage license. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.
ID Requirement: Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.
Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of Oregon.
Waiting Period: 3 days.
If Divorced: If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.
Fees: Cash Only! $25
Other Tests: No tests
Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.
Officiants: The minister, priest or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state may perform marriages. Ministers must provide marriage certificates to the couple married and report the marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.
Valid: License is valid for 90 days anywhere in Oregon.
The license can only be used within the State of Oregon.
IMPORTANT: State and county marriage license requirements can change so make sure you check with your local town clerk. This information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any plans.
List Of Oregon County Clerk Offices
Baker County Clerk 1995 3rd St Baker, OR 97814 541-523-8207
Benton County Clerk 120 Northwest Fourth St Corvallis, OR 97330 541-757-6831
Clackamas County Clerk County Recording Office 2051 Kaen Rd Oregon City, OR 97045 503-655-8661
Clatsop County Clerk 749 Commercial P.O. Box 178 Astoria, OR 97103 503-325-8511
Columbia County Recorder Columbia County Courthouse St Helens, OR 97051 503-397-3796
Coos County Clerk Coos County Courthouse Coquille, OR 97423 541-396-3121
Crook County Clerk 300 E 3rd St Prineville, OR 97754 541-447-6553
Curry County Clerk P.O. Box 746 Gold Beach, OR 97444 541-247-3295
Deschutes County Clerk 1130 Nw Harriman Bend, OR 97701 541-388-6549
Douglas County Clerk P.O. Box 10 Roseburg, OR 97470 541-440-4318
Giliam County Recorder 221 S. Oregon St Condon, OR 97823 541-384-2311
Grant County Clerk Courthouse Canyon City, OR 97820 541-575-1675
Harney County Clerk 450 North Buena Vista Burns, OR 97720 541-573-6641
Hood River County 309 State St Hood River, OR 97031 541-386-3970
Jackson County Clerk 10 South Oakdale Medford, OR 97501 541-776-7232
Jefferson County Clerk 657 "C" St Madras, OR 97741 541-475-4451
Josephine County Clerk 6th & C St, #170 Grants Pass, OR 97526 541-474-5243
Klamath County Recorder 316 Main St Klamath Falls, OR 97601 541-883-5134
Lake County Recorder 513 Center St Lakeview, OR 97630 541-947-6006
Lane County Deeds And Records Office 125 East 8th Ave Eugene, OR 97401 541-682-3653
Lincoln County Lincoln County Recorder 225 West Olive St, #201 Newport, OR 97365 541-265-4121
Linn County Recorder P.O. Box 100 Albany, OR 97321 541-967-3831
Malheur County Clerk 251 B St West Box 4 Vale, OR 97918 541-473-5151
Marion County Clerk 100 High St N.E.#110 Salem, OR 97301 503-588-5225
Morrow County Clerk 100 North Court Heppner, OR 97836 503-676-9061
Multnomah County Clerk 501 S.E. Hawthorne Blvd Portland, OR 97214 503-988-3027
Polk County Clerk Courthouse, Room 201 Dallas, OR 97338 503-623-9217
Sherman County Clerk 500 Court St Moro, OR 97039 541-565-3606
Tillamook County Clerk 201 Laurel Ave Tillamook, OR 97141 503-842-3402
Umatilla County Recorder or Clerk 216 S.E. 4th St Pendleton, OR 97801 541-276-7111
Union County Clerk 1100 L. St La Grande, OR 97850 541-963-1006
Wallowa County Clerk 101 S. River Enterprise, OR 97828 541-426-4543
Wasco County Clerk County Court House The Dalles, OR 97058 541-296-6159
Washington County Records Division 155 North First St, #130 Hillsboro, OR 97124 503-648-8752
Wheeler County Clerk 701 Adams St Fossil, OR 97830 541-763-2400
Yamhill County Clerk Fifth And Evans Room 119 Mcminnville, OR 97128 503-472-9371