Marriage License Questions? Click Here To Speak To Rev. Louis Right Now at 1-888-886-6075

Nebraska Marriage License Requirements

Below is the information on what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the marriage laws before filling out the marriage license forms.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document that allows you to officially be married under the law. Always check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

Licenses are usually not valid for more than 30 days so you'll typically need to apply for your marriage license within one month of your wedding ceremony. You need to submit your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

IMPORTANT: You are not officially married when you receive a marriage license. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

ID Requirement: Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of Nebraska.

Waiting Period: 3 days.

If Divorced: If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.

Fees: Cash Only! $25

Other Tests: No tests

Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.

Officiants: The minister, priest or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state may perform marriages. Ministers must provide marriage certificates to the couple married and report the marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.

Valid: License is valid for 90 days anywhere in Nebraska.
The license can only be used within the State of Nebraska.


IMPORTANT: State and county marriage license requirements can change so make sure you check with your local town clerk. This information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any plans.

Adams County Register of Deeds 4th And Denver Hastings, NE 68902 402-461-7107
Antelope County Clerk 501 Main St Neligh, NE 68756 402-887-4410
Box Butte County Clerk 5th And Box Butte St Alliance, NE 69301 308-762-6565
Brown County Clerk 148 West 4th St Anisworth, NE 69210 402-387-2705
Buffalo County ClerkRegister of Deeds P.O. Box 1270 Kearney, NE 68848 308-236-1226
Burt County Clerk P.O. Box 87 Tekamah, NE 68061 402-374-1955
Butler County Clerk P.O. Box 289 David City, NE 68632 402-367-7430
Cass County Clerk 4th & Main Sts Plattsmouth, NE 68048 402-296-9300
Cedar County Clerk P.O. Box 47 Hartington, NE 68739 402-254-7411
Cheyenne County Clerk P.O. Box 217 Sidney, NE 69162 308-254-2141
Clay County Clerk 111 W Fairfield Clay Center, NE 68933 402-762-3463
Cuming County Clerk P.O. Box 290 West Point, NE 68788 402-372-6002
Custer County Register of Deeds 431 South 10th Broken Bow, NE 68822 308-872-5701
Dakota County Clerk Courthouse Dakota City, NE 68731 402-987-2126
Dawes County Clerk 451 Main Chadron, NE 69337 308-432-0100
Dawson County Register of Deeds Office 700 N Washington Lexington, NE 68850 308-324-2127
Dixon County Clerk P.O. Box 546 Ponca, NE 68770 402-755-2208
Dodge County Clerk 435 N Park Ave Fremont, NE 68025 402-727-2767
Douglas County Register of Deeds 1819 Farnam, Suite H-09 Omaha, NE 68183 402-444-7143
Dundy County Clerk P.O. Box 506 Benkelman, NE 69021 308-423-2058
Fillmore County Clerk P.O. Box 307 Geneva, NE 68361 402-759-4931
Franklin County Clerk 405 15th Ave Franklin, NE 68939 308-425-6202
Frontier County Clerk 1 Wellington St Stockville, NE 69042 308-367-8641
Furnas County Clerk P.O. Box 387 Beaver, NE 68926 308-268-4145
Gosper County Clerk P.O. Box 136 Elwood, NE 68937 308-785-2611
Hall County Register of Deeds 121 S. Pine Grana Island, NE 68801 308-381-5080
Hamilton County Clerk 11 13th St Suite 1 Aurora, NE 68681 402-694-3443
Harlan County Clerk P.O. Box L Alma, NE 68920 308-928-2173
Holt County Register of Deeds N. 4th St O'Neill, NE 68763 402-336-1762
Jefferson County Clerk 411 4th St Fairbury, NE 68352 402-729-2323
Johnson CountyCounty Clerk 4th & Broadway Tecumfeh, NE 68450 402-335-3246
Kearney County ClerkCourthouse P.O. Box 339 Minden, NE 68959 308-832-2723
Kieth County Clerk P.O. Box 149 Ogallala, NE 69153 308-284-4726
Knox County Register of Deeds P.O. Box 166 Center, NE 68724 402-288-4282
Lancaster County Register of Deeds 555 South 10th St Lincoln, NE 68508 402-471-7481
Lincoln County Register of Deeds 301 North Jeffers, Rm 103 North Platte, NE 69101 308-534-4350
Madison County ClerkRegister of Deeds Madison County Courthouse Madison, NE 68748 402-454-3311
McPherson County ClerkRegister of Deeds P.O. Box 122 Tryon, NE 69167 308-587-2363
Merrick County Clerk 1621 18th St Central City, NE 68826 308-946-2881
Morrill County Clerk P.O. Box 610 Bridgeport, NE 69336 308-262-0860
Nance County Clerk P.O. Box 338 Fullerton, NE 68638 308-536-2331
Otoe County ClerkRegister of Deeds 1021 Central Ave Nebraska City, NE 68410 402-873-9505
Pawnee County Clerk 625 6th St Pawnee City, NE 68420 402-852-2962
Perkins County Clerk P.O. Box 156 Grant, NE 69140 308-352-4643
Phelps County Clerk P.O. Box 404 Holdrege, NE 68949 308-995-4469
Pierce County Clerk 111 W Court Room 1 Pierce, NE 68767 402-329-4225
Platte County Register of Deeds Platte County Courthouse Columbus, NE 68601 402-564-4904
Polk County Clerk P.O. Box 276 Osceola, NE 68651 402-747-5431
Red Willow County Clerk 500 Norris Ave Mc Cook, NE 69001 308-345-1552
Rock County Clerk P.O. Box 367 Bassett, NE 68714 402-684-3933
Saline County Clerk P.O. Box 865 Wilber, NE 68465 402-821-2374
Sarpy County Register of Deeds 1301 South Washington Papillion, NE 68046 402-593-2105
Saunders County Clerk P.O. Box 184 Wahoo, NE 68066 402-443-8101
Scotts Bluff County Register of Deeds 1825 10th St Gering, NE 69341 308-436-6600
Seward County Clerk P.O. Box 190 Seward, NE 68434 402-643-2883
Sheridan County Clerk301 East Second County Courthouse Rushville, NE 69360 308-327-2633
Stanton County Register of Deeds 804 Ivy St Stanton, NE 68779 402-439-2222
Thayer County Clerk P.O. Box 208 Hebron, NE 68370 402-768-6126
Thomas County Clerk P.O. Box 226 Thedford, NE 69166 308-645-2261
Thurston County Clerk 106 S. 5th St Pender, NE 68047 402-385-2343
Washington County Clerk 1555 Coalfax St Blair, NE 68008 402-426-6822
Wayne County Clerk P.O. Box 248 Wayne, NE 68787 402-375-2288
Webster County Register of Deeds 621 North Cedar Red Cloud, NE 68970 402-746-2716
York County Clerk 510 Lincoln Ave York, NE 68467 402-362-7759