Marriage License Questions? Click Here To Speak To Rev. Louis Right Now at 1-888-886-6075

Montana Marriage License Requirements

Below is the information on what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the marriage laws before filling out the marriage license forms.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document that allows you to officially be married under the law. Always check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

Licenses are usually not valid for more than 30 days so you'll typically need to apply for your marriage license within one month of your wedding ceremony. You need to submit your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

IMPORTANT: You are not officially married when you receive a marriage license. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

ID Requirement: Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of Montana.

Waiting Period: 3 days.

If Divorced: If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.

Fees: Cash Only! $25

Other Tests: No tests

Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.

Officiants: The minister, priest or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state may perform marriages. Ministers must provide marriage certificates to the couple married and report the marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.

Valid: License is valid for 90 days anywhere in Montana.
The license can only be used within the State of Montana.


IMPORTANT: State and county marriage license requirements can change so make sure you check with your local town clerk. This information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any plans.

Big Horn County District Court Clerk 121 West 3rd St Harden, MT 59034 406-665-1504
Blaine County District Court Clerk 400 Ohio St Chinook, MT 59523 406-357-3109
Broadwater County District Court Clerk 515 Broadway St Townsend, MT 59644 406-266-3418
Carbon County District Court Clerk 102 N Broadway Red Lodge, MT 59008 406-446-1225
Cascade County District Court Clerk 415 N 2nd Ave Great Falls, MT 59403 406-454-6780
Chouteau County District Court Clerk 1308 Franklin St Fort Benton, MT 59442 406-622-5024
Custer County District Court Clerk 1010 Main St Miles City, MT 59301 406-232-7800
Dawson County District Court Clerk 207 West Bell Glendive, MT 59330 406-365-2666
Deer Lodge County District Court Clerk 800 South Main Anaconda, MT 59711 406-563-4040
Fallon County Clerk of Court P.O. Box 846 Baker, MT 59313 406-778-2883
Flathead County District Court Clerk 800 South Main Kalispell, MT 59901 406-758-5660
Gallatin County Clerk of Court 311 West Main Room 204 Bozeman, MT 59715 406-582-2165
Garfield County Clerk of Court Highway 200 Jordan, MT 59337 406-557-6254
Glacier County District Court Clerk 512 E Main Cut Bank, MT 95427 406-873-5627
Golden Valley County Clerk of Court P.O. Box 10 Ryegate, MT 59074 406-568-2231
Granite County Clerk of Court P.O. Box B Philipsburg, MT 59858 406-859-3712
Hill County Courthouse 315 Fourth St Havre, MT 59501 406-265-5481
Jefferson County District Court Centennial Ave Boulder, MT 59632 406-225-4042
Lake County District Court Clerk 106 4th Ave East Polson, MT 59860 406-883-7254
Lewis and Clark County District Court 228 E Broadway St Helena, MT 59624 406-447-8205
Liberty County Clerk of Court 111 1st St E Chester, MT 59522 406-759-5615
Lincoln County District Court Clerk 512 California Ave Libby, MT 59923 406-293-7781
Madison County District Court 110 East Wallace Virginia City, MT 59755 406-843-4235
Meagher County Clerk of Court 15 West Main Whitesulpher Springs, MT 59645 406-547-3941
Mineral County Clerk-District 300 River St Superior, MT 59872 406-822-3538
Missoula County Clerk of District Court 200 West Broadway Missoula, MT 59802 406-523-4780
Musselshell County District Court Clerk 506 Main St Round Up, MT 59072 406-323-1413
Park County Clerk District Court 414 E Callender St Livingston, MT 59047 406-222-4110
Phillips County Clerk of Court P.O. Box 530 Malta, MT 59538 406-654-1023
Pondera County District Court 20 4th Ave SW Conrad, MT 59425 406-278-4026
Powder River County Clerk of Court 1 Main St Broadus, MT 59317 406-436-2320
Powell County Clerk of Court 409 Missouri Ave Deer Lodge, MT 59722 406-846-3680
Prairie County Clerk of Court 125 Clerk & Recorder Terry, MT 59349 406-637-5575
Ravalli County Clerk-District 205 Bedford St Hamilton, MT 59840 406-375-6214
Richland County District Court Clerk 201 West Main Sidney, MT 59270 406-482-5939
Roosevelt County District Court Clerk 400 2nd Ave South Wolf Point, MT 59201 406-653-1590
Rosebud County ClerkOf District Court P.O. Box 47 Forsyth, MT 59327 406-356-7322
Sanders County Clerk of Court 1111 Main St Thompson Falls, MT 59873 406-827-4316
Sheridan County Clerk of Court 100 West Laurel Ave Plentywood, MT 59254 406-765-2310
Silver Bow County District Clerk 155 W Granite St Butte, MT 59701 406-723-8262
Stillwater Cnty0 Court Clerk 400 3rd Ave N. Columbus, MT 59019 406-322-5332
Sweet GrassCounty Clerk-Court P.O. Box 460 Bigtimber, MT 59011 406-932-5154
Teton County Clerk-Dist Court P.O. Box 610 Chotaeu, MT 59422 406-466-2909
Toole County Clerk of Court 226 1st St South Shelby, MT 59474 406-434-2271
Treasurer County Clerk of Court P.O. Box 392 Hysham, MT 59038 406-342-5547
Valley County District Court P.O. Box 311 Glasgow, MT 59230 406-228-8221
Wheatland County Court Clerk Highway 12 & "A" Ave N W Harlowton, MT 59036 406-632-4893
Yellowstone County Clerk of Court Marriage Lcns Cor. 3rd & 27th St Billings, MT 59107 406-256-2869