Marriage License Questions? Click Here To Speak To Rev. Louis Right Now at 1-888-886-6075

Mississippi Marriage License Requirements

Below is the information on what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the marriage laws before filling out the marriage license forms.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document that allows you to officially be married under the law. Always check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

Licenses are usually not valid for more than 30 days so you'll typically need to apply for your marriage license within one month of your wedding ceremony. You need to submit your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

IMPORTANT: You are not officially married when you receive a marriage license. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

ID Requirement: Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of Mississippi.

Waiting Period: 3 days.

If Divorced: If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.

Fees: Cash Only! $25

Other Tests: No tests

Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.

Officiants: The minister, priest or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state may perform marriages. Ministers must provide marriage certificates to the couple married and report the marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.

Valid: License is valid for 90 days anywhere in Mississippi.
The license can only be used within the State of Mississippi.


IMPORTANT: State and county marriage license requirements can change so make sure you check with your local town clerk. This information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any plans.

Adams County Circuit Clerk 1 Courthouse Sq Natchey, MS 39120 601-446-6326
Alcorn County Circuit Clerk 600 E Waldron St Corinth, MS 38834 601-286-7740
Amite County Circuit Clerk 243 Main St Liberty, MS 39645 601-657-8932
Attala County Circuit Clerk 230 W Washington St Kosciusko, MS 39090 601-289-1471
Benton County Circuit Clerk 100 Main St Ashland, MS 38603 601-224-6310
Bolivar County Circuit Clerk 200 S Court St Cleveland, MS 38732 601-843-2061
Calhoun County Circuit Clerk 103 W Main St Pittsboro, MS 38951 601-412-3101
Carroll County Circuit Clerk Lexington St Carrollton, MS 38917 601-237-9274
Chickasay County Circuit Clerk 109 N Jefferson St Houston, MS 38851 601-456-2331
Claiborne County Circuit Clerk 410 Main St Port Gibson, MS 39150 601-437-5841
Clay County Circuit Clerk Marriage Division 205 Court St West Point, MS 39773 601-494-3384
Coahoma County Circuit Clerk 115 1st St Clarksdale, MS 38614 662-624-3000
Copiah County Circuit Clerk 101 Caldwell Dr Hazlehurst, MS 39083 601-894-1241
Covington County Circuit Clerk Main & Dogwood Collins, MS 39428 601-765-6506
DeSoto County Circuit Clerk Hwy 51 North Courtsquare Hernando, MS 38632 601-429-1325
Forrest County Circuit Clerk 630 N Main St Hattiesburg, MS 39401 601-582-3213
Franklin County Circuit Clerk Main St-Courthouse Square Meadville, MS 39653 601-384-2320
George County Circuit Clerk 200 Courthouse Square Lucedale, MS 39452 601-947-4881
Greene County Circuit Clerk Main St Leakesville, MS 39451 601-394-2379
Grenada County Circuit Clerk 59 Green St, # 8 Grenada, MS 38901 601-226-1941
Hancock County Circuit Clerk 152 Main St Bay St Louis, MS 39520 228-467-5265
Harrison County Circuit Clerk 1801 23rd Ave Gulfport, MS 39502 228-865-4167
Hinds County Circuit Clerk 127 Main St Raymond, MS 39201 601-968-6653
Holmes County Circuit Clerk P.O. Box 718 Lexington, MS 39095 601-834-2476
Itawamba County Circuit Clerk 201 W Main St Fulton, MS 38843 601-862-3511
Jackson County Circuit Clerk 101 N Court St, # B Pascagoula, MS 39567 228-769-3039
Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk 2325 Columbia Ave Prentiss, MS 39474 601-792-4231
Jones County Circuit Clerk 415 North 5th Ave Laurel, MS 39441 601-425-2556
Lafayette County Circuit Clerk Lafayette Courthouse Oxford, MS 38655 601-234-4951
Lamar County Circuit Clerk 203 Main St Purvis, MS 39475 601-794-8504
Lauderdale County Circuit Clerk 500 Constitution Ave Meridian, MS 39301 601-482-9731
Leake County Circuit Clerk 101 Court Square Carthage, MS 39051 601-298-1302
Lee County Circuit Clerk 300 West Main St Tupelo, MS 38802 601-841-9024
Leflore County Circuit Clerk 115 Market St Greenwood, MS 38930 601-453-1435
Lincoln County Circuit Clerk 231 South 1st St Brookhaven, MS 39601 601-835-3435
Lowndes County Circuit Clerk 515 North 2nd Ave Columbus, MS 39703 601-329-5900
Madison County Circuit Clerk 128 W North St Canton, MS 39046 601-859-4365
Marion County Circuit Clerk 250 Broad St, #2 Columbia, MS 39429 601-736-8246
Marshall County Circuit Clerk College St Holly Springs, MS 38635 601-252-3434
Monroe County Circuit Clerk 201 West Commence Aberdeen, MS 39730 601-369-8695
Montgomery County Circuit Clerk 614 North Summit St Winona, MS 38967 601-283-4161
Neshoba County Circuit Clerk 401 Beacon St Suite 107 Philadelphia, MS 39350 601-656-4781
Newton County Circuit Clerk 92 Broad St Decatur, MS 39327 601-635-2368
Noxubee County Circuit Clerk 505 S. Jefferson Macon, MS 39341 601-726-5737
Oktibbeha County Circuit Clerk 101 E Main St Starkville, MS 39759 601-323-1356
Panola County Circuit Clerk 151 Public Square Batesville, MS 38606 601-563-6210
Pearl River County Circuit Clerk 200 S Main St Polarville, MS 39470 601-795-1235
Pike County Circuit Clerk 218 East Bay St Magnolia, MS 39652 601-783-2581
Prentiss County Circuit Clerk 100 North Main Booneville, MS 38829 601-728-4611
Quitman County Circuit Clerk 233 Chestnut St Marks, MS 38646 601-326-8003
Rankin County Circuit Clerk 305 Government St Brandon, MS 39043 601-825-1466
Scott County Circuit Clerk 100 Main St Forest, MS 39074 601-469-3601
Simpson County Circuit Clerk 100 Court St, # 2 Mendenhall, MS 39114 601-847-2474
Smith County Circuit Clerk 123 Main St Raleigh, MS 39153 601-782-9481
Stone County Circuit Clerk 323 Cavers Ave E Wiggins, MS 39577 601-928-5246
Sunflower County Circuit Clerk 200 Main St Indianola, MS 38751 601-887-1252
Tate County Circuit Clerk 201 Ward St Senatobia, MS 38668 601-562-5211
Tishomingo County Circuit Clerk 1008 Battleground Drive Iuka, MS 38852 601-423-7037
Union County Circuit Clerk 114 Vankhead St New Albany, MS 38652 601-534-1910
Warren County Circuit Clerk 1009 Cherry St Vicksburg, MS 39180 601-636-3961
Washington County Circuit Clerk 900 Washington Ave Greenville, MS 38701 601-378-2747
Winston County Circuit Clerk 115 South Court Louisville, MS 39339 601-773-3581
Yalobusha County Circuit Clerk 132 Blackmur Drive Water Valley, MS 38965 601-473-1341
Yazoo County Circuit Clerk 211 E Broadway St Yazoo City, MS 39194 601-746-1872